Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Chemistry and Physics

FSU HomeChemistryDegree Programs

Preparing for the future

The Chemistry programs prepare students for employment as professional chemists; for further studies in graduate schools; for professional training in dentistry, medicine, pharmacy and optometry; and for secondary school science teaching.

Degree Programs

Our Mission

The overall mission of the Chemistry program of Fayetteville State University is to provide a broad-based and rigorous chemistry education to equip students with the intellectual, experimental, and communication skills necessary for continuing their studies at the graduate level, as well as pursuing careers in industry, primary and secondary education, and government. The program supports the existing degree programs in biology, biotechnology, forensic science, and the allied-health sciences. The program also contributes to the general education of non-science majors by offering courses that provide introductory overview of the principles, concepts, and methods of chemistry as a central science.


The Department of Chemistry and Physics Offers the Following Degrees:

The BS degree prepares students intending to pursue a graduate degree or a career in chemistry as a professional chemist. The BA degree provides a broad chemistry-based background in preparation for a chemistry-related career, for professional training in many fields including, but not limited to, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, optometry, and for secondary school science teaching. The BChE degree will prepare students to work in a wide range of industries to solve technical problems, create and improve products, or for graduate study in the medical sciences, materials science, or patent and environmental law.

The Department of Chemistry and Physics Offers the Following Minor Degrees:

The minors in chemistry, materials science, and physics are designed for students who would like additional coursework in chemistry, materials science, and physics.


Of Interest


A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina