Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Chemistry and Physics

FSU HomeChemistryFaculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Name Title Office Phone (910) Email
Chemistry

Cevdet Akbay

Professor of Chemistry, Chair
Analytical Chemistry

B.S., Inonu University, Turkey
M.S. & Ph.D., Louisiana State University

Research interests: Separation of small and large molecules using capillary electrophoresis and high performance liquid chromatography

LSA 305C 672-1943 cakbay@uncfsu.edu

Daniel E. Autrey

Associate Professor of Chemistry, Assistant Chair
Physical Chemistry

B.S., Southeast Missouri State University
Ph.D., Texas A & M University

Research interests:Biological Raman spectroscopy

STB 305B 672-1354 dautrey@uncfsu.edu

Bidisha Bose-Basu

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Organic Chemistry

B.S., University of Calcutta, India
M.S., University of Calcutta, India
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, IN

Research interests: 

STB 311 672-1052 bbosebas@uncfsu.edu

Jonathan G. Breitzer

Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Inorganic Chemistry

Planetarium Director

B.A., Grinnell College
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Research interests:Cathode materials for lithium-ion batteries; sulfur-rich molecules; synthesis of nanoscale materials; demonstrations for chemical education

STB 310 672-1176 jbreitzer@uncfsu.edu

Jairo Castillo-Chara

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Physical Chemistry

B.S., Universidad del Valle, Cali-Colombia
M.S., University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez , PR
Ph.D., Texas A & M University, College Station, TX

Research interests:Computational Chemistry

STB 313 672-2062 jcastill@uncfsu.edu

Shubo Han

Professor of Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry

B.E., Hebei University of Science and Technology
Ph.D. & M.S., University of Science and Technology of China

Research interests:Protein Interactions in neurodegenerative diseases, Nanomaterials, Biosensors, Electrochemistry

LSA 334 672-1303 shan@uncfsu.edu

Subir Nagdas

Professor of Biochemistry
Biochemistry

B.S., Calcutta University, Calcutta, India
M.S., Calcutta University, Calcutta, India
Ph.D., Jadavpur University, Calcutta, India

Research interests:Identification and characterization of acrosomal enzymes and acrosomal protein-protein interactions to elucidate their physiological roles in mammalian fertilization.

LSA 336 672-2073 snagdas@uncfsu.edu

Darren Pearson

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Organic Chemistry

B.S., Virgina Politechnic Institute and State University
Ph.D., University of South Carolina - Columbia

Research interests:Synthesis, characterization, and application of conducting rigid rod organic oligomers for use in molecular rectifiers, transistors, and other electronic devices.

LSA 332 672-1346 dpearson@uncfsu.edu
Physics and Materials Science

Abdirahman Y. Abokor
Associate Professor of Physics

B.S., Somali National University
Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Research interests:
STB 321 672-1358 aabokor@uncfsu.edu

Ila

Daryush Ila

Professor of Physics
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research

B.S., Physics - Tehran University
M.S., Nuclear Physics - M.I. T.
Ph.D., Condensed Matter Physics - U. Mass Lowell


Research Interests: Surface and Interface Processing at Nanoscale; Fundamental and applied ion matter interaction;Thermoelectric properties nanoscale materials (regimented quantum dots); Biomaterials and cell/matter interface studies

LSA 320 672-2417

dila@uncfsu.edu

Luo
Zhiping Luo

Associate Professor of Physics and Materials Science 
SENCR-MIC Manager
Materials Science and Engineering

B.E., Dalian Jiaotong University, China
M.S.E., Southwest Jiaotong University, China
Ph.D., Chinese Aeronautical Establishment

Research interests:Fabrication of novel nanostructured materials with enhanced performance for energy-related applications; material structures through electron microscopy; material structure-property correlations.

LS 129 672-2647

zluo@uncfsu.edu


John Mattox

Professor of Astronomy & Physics

B.S., University of Florida
Ph.D., Stanford University

Research interests:Beamed Emission of AGN, Sustainability, Energy Efficiency,  and Renewable Energy Technology

STB 319 672-1652 jmattox@uncfsu.edu

Gurcharan S. Rahi

Professor of Physical Science

M.S., U.P.A. University, Pantnagar
Ph.D., Mississippi State University

 

STB 315 672-1653 grahi@uncfsu.edu

Alex Umantsev

Professor of Physics

B.S., Moscow Institute for Physics and Technology
M.S., Moscow Institute for Transportation and Engineering
Ph.D., National Research Lab for Metallurgy, Moscow

Research interests:Condensed- and soft-matter physics, computational materials physics and biophysics; particularly processes of pattern formation, nonequilibrium thermodynamic and dynamics of interfaces, theoretical methods and computer simulations.

STB 320 672-1449 aumantsev@uncfsu.edu

Jianshi Wu

Professor of Physics

B.S., Tsinghua University, China
Ph.D. Yale University

Research interests:Nuclear Structure and Astrophysics, elasticity of Microemulsion

STB 318 672-1926 jwu@uncfsu.edu
 Preeti Sharma

Adjunct Lecturer

ST 314 672-2544  psharma@uncfsu.edu
 Caroline Sloan

Adjunct Assist Professor  

ST 314 672-2544  csloan@uncfsu.edu

 Wymer  Nathan Wymer

Part-time Lecturer   

ST 305 860-449-4955  nwymer@uncfsu.edu

Staff


Brenda Fuller
Administrative Secretary STB 305 672-2441 bfuller@uncfsu.edu

Ivy Rittenhouse

Research Operation Coordinator

BS Fayetteville State University

LS 305

STB 440

672-1054 irittenhouse@uncfsu.edu

Grace Chavis

Research Technician

BS Fayetteville State University (Chemistry)
MS Fayetteville State University (Biology)

STB 232A 672-1860 gchavis@uncfsu.edu
Nicholas J Foster

SENCR-MIC Laboratory Technician

BS (Hons) University of Kent

MS University of Kent

LS 117 672-2039 nfoster1@uncfsu.edu

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us