Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Elementary Education

FSU HomeElementary Ed

Proud to be
FSU Students

In as much as Fayetteville State University was founded in 1867 as a teacher-training institution, the College of Education resides close to the heart of FSU's mission.

It's All About You

Be proactive by responding to the "challenge of teaching" and let FSU prepare you as a "Facilitator of Learning."


Department of Elementary Education Mission Statement

The primary mission of the Department of Elementary Education at Fayetteville State University is to prepare dynamic, knowledgeable, caring, and reflective teachers and leaders who are dedicated to facilitating learning for all children in the 21 st Century schools. This goal is achieved in the undergraduate, graduate and licensure programs through the delivery of research-based instruction, collaboration, partnerships, and continuous professional development.

Completers, prepared by highly qualified faculty, have the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to support student learning within a framework of family and community and are able to participate in a diverse, technological, and global society.

Programs Offered

The Department offers undergraduate degrees in Elementary Education (K-6), Birth to Kindergarten (B-K), and Birth to Kindergarten Non-Teaching (B-K) as well as graduate degrees in Elementary Education (K-6) and Reading Education (K-12). The Department also has licensure only programs for those candidates who have a degree and wish to pursue teaching in the elementary school, birth to kindergarten or reading.  

Tanya Hudson

Dr. Hudson

Recipient of Certificate of Appreciation for Bronco Star Program Award
Recognition as a Learning Community Coach


Annette Burnett
Welcome aboard our new employee as the Professional Academic Advisor


New Links

American Education Week 2017

Rise & Shine Summer Pearson Workshop
12 Clinical Educators, Principal, & Clinical Candidates
North Carolina Foundations of Reading/ General Curriculum
Development Schedule- Fall 2017


 Image result for images of updates

  >Click< Department Newsletter

Department of Elementary Education
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28301

G.L. Butler Building, Room 232
Hours: M-F: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (910) 672-1538
Fax: (910) 672-1445

Dr. Priscilla Manarino-Leggett, Chair
Dr. Tanya Hudson, Assistant Chair
Mrs. Coneasha D. Thomas, Administrative Support Associate
Mrs. Dianna Wesley, Administrative Support Associate
Mrs. Annette Burnett, Professional Academic Advisor


Web Communities

Image result for facebook logo   


A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina