Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Elementary Education

FSU HomeElementary EdGraduate Program Information

Graduate Program Information

Graduate Program Schedule of Events and Deadlines
Spring Semester 2015
October 30 Thursday Pre-registration begins
December 10 Monday Registration begins
January 1 Thursday New Year's Day - University closed
January 2 Friday University Holiday - University closed
January 5 Monday University reopens - No classes
January 6 Tuesday College/School/Department meetings
January 7-14 Graduate Student Orientation (by department or program)
January 9 Friday Registration ends
January 10 Saturday First day of classes
January 10 Saturday Late registration begins ($20.00 fee)
January 16 Friday Late Registration Ends
January 19 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr., Birthday Holiday----University closed
January 20 Tuesday Graduate Council Meeting
January 21 Wednesday Thesis/Dissertation Workshop (APA Writing Workshop) with Thesis and Dissertation Editor
5:00 p.m.
Location TBA
January 23 Friday Deadline for Master's students to submit applications for Spring 2015 Comprehensive Examinations
January 23 Friday Deadline for X (No-Show) grades.
January 30 Friday Deadline to apply for May 2015 graduation
February 5 Thursday Graduate School Preparation Workshop (To be organized by departments or programs)
February 16-23 Monday-Monday Spring 2015 Comprehensive Examination Week
February 17 Tuesday Graduate Council Meeting
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
February 27 Friday Oral Defense: Last day for students to submit Thesis and Dissertation Oral Defense Scheduling Form (students must submit the signed form and a copy of the thesis or dissertation to the Dean's Office no later than two weeks prior to requested date of oral defense). Students are encouraged to apply early
February 28-March 6 Saturday-Friday Midterm Exams
March 6 Friday Department chairs will notify students and the Dean's Office of Comprehensive Examination results
March 7-13 Saturday-Saturday Midterm Break
No Classes; University Open
March 16 Monday Last Day for Thesis and Dissertation Oral Defense
*Please note that the Thesis/Dissertation Oral Defense Scheduling Form and a copy of the Thesis/dissertation must have been submitted two weeks prior to the date of the defense

*Note: Students should submit one copy of thesis/dissertation after making revisions from The defense to the Dean's Office for review by Thesis and Dissertation Editor within one week after the defense
March 17 Tuesday Graduate Council Meeting
March 23 Monday Last day to submit one (1) copy of thesis/dissertation to School/College for review by the Thesis/Dissertation Editor (Thesis/Dissertation Approval Form should be submitted with thesis/dissertation with all required signatures)

*Note: Students should submit one copy of thesis/dissertation after making revisions from the defense to the School/College for review by Thesis and Dissertation Editor within one week after the defense
March 24 Tuesday Spring 2015 Open House for Prospective Graduate Students
April 3 Friday Spring Holiday
University Closed
April 9 Thursday Founders Day
Seabrook Auditorium
April 21 Tuesday Graduate Council Meeting
April 27 Monday Deadline for submission of four (4) final copies of Thesis/Dissertation to Dean's Office
April 27-May 2 Monday-Saturday Final exams for graduating students
April 30 Friday Last day of classes
May 2-May 8 Saturday-Friday Final exams for students not graduating
May 4 Monday Final grades due for graduating students
May 5 Tuesday Last day to submit Clearance for Graduation Form for May 2015 Graduation
May 9 Saturday Spring 2015 Commencement - 9:00 a.m.
May 11 Monday Final grades due for students not graduating
May 15 Friday Textbook Rental Return
Last day to return rental textbooks.

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina