Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of English

FSU HomeEnglishFaculty


CommencementFSU English majors have the opportunity to receive one-on-one advising with assigned faculty advisors. Students are encouraged to schedule advising meetings with faculty advisors via email to discuss various issues, such as course enrollment and degree progression. If you recently declared an English major, you can view your assigned faculty advisor in Banner


The English Department at FSU features a number of successful writers and researchers. Faculty members include a New York Times bestselling author and an award-winning poet. English professors at FSU have written books on topics ranging from medieval literature to digital cinema.

Name Title Email Office Phone
Area Code (910); Department Fax:  (910) 672-1425; Email:
Dr. Trela Anderson Department Chair/Associate Professor tanderson BU 123 672-1416/1933
Dr. Ji Young Kim Assistant Chair jkim BU 134 672-1848
Ms. Vickie Bannon Administrative Support Associate vbannon BU 123 672-1471
Dr. Sonya C. Brown Graduate Coordinator / Associate Professor scbrown BU 388A 672-1861
Dr. Elizabeth Bir Assistant Professor ebir HTC 219 672-1824
Dr. Phyllisa Deroze Assistant Professor pderoze Williams 203 672-2439
Dr. Aydé Enríquez-Loya Assistant Professor aenrique BU 387 672-2507
Dr. Sarah Frantz Associate Professor sfrantz BU 127 672-1438
Dr. Brenda Hammack Associate Professor bhammack BU 131 672-1452
Dr. Brooksie Harrington Associate Professor bharrington BU 135 672-1931
Dr. Eric Hyman Professor ehyman BU 133 672-1901
Dr. Ji Young Kim Director of Composition / Associate Professor jkim BU 134 672-1848
Dr. Gary McConnell Assistant Professor gmcconnell BU 124 672-1902
Dr. Nicole A. McFarlane Assistant Professor nmcfarla BU 363C 672-2146
Dr. Edward McShane Associate Professor emcshane BU 128 672-1934
Dr. Micki Nyman Associate Professor mnyman Williams 206A 672-2426
Dr. Maria Orban Associate Professor morban BU 125 672-1049
Dr. Joyce Russell Associate Professor jrussell BU 132 672-1589
Dr. Dean Swinford Associate Professor dswinfor Williams 205A 672-2425
Dr. Chuck Tryon Associate Professor ctryon BU 126 672-2223
Dr. Alison Van Nyhuis Assistant Professor avannyhu Williams 214 672-2506
Ms. Carole Weatherford Professor cweatherford BU 129 672-2149
Ms. Barbara Blevins Part-time Lecturer bblevins 672-1416
Ms. Mary Ferguson Part-time Lecturer mjferguson01 672-1416
Dr. Lonnell Johnson Part-time Adjunct   672-1416
Ms. Vicki Millspaugh-McKenzie Part-time Lecturer vmckenzie HTC 131 672-1768
Ms. Toni Thomas Part-time Lecturer trthomas01 672-1416

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us