Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of English

FSU HomeEnglishFaculty

Advising 

CommencementFSU English majors have the opportunity to receive one-on-one advising with assigned faculty advisors. Students are encouraged to schedule advising meetings with faculty advisors via email to discuss various issues, such as course enrollment and degree progression. If you recently declared an English major, you can view your assigned faculty advisor in Banner

Faculty

The English Department at FSU features a number of successful writers and researchers. Faculty members include a New York Times bestselling author and an award-winning poet. English professors at FSU have written books on topics ranging from medieval literature to digital cinema.

Administators & Staff

woman smiling standing in front of brick wall

woman with glasses standing in front of brick wall

woman in polka dot dress seated at desk

Department Chair
Associate Professor

Dr. Trela Anderson 

tanderson@uncfsu.edu
Butler 123
(910) 672-1416/1933

Assistant Chair &
Composition 
Director
Associate Professor

Dr. Ji Young Kim 

jkim@uncfsu.edu
Butler 134  
(910) 672-1848 

Administrative Support
Associate


Ms. Vickie Bannon

vbannon@uncfsu.edu
Butler 123
(910) 672-1471


Faculty & Instructors

 

woman standing in front of brick wall

Associate Professor 
& Graduate Program
Coordinator

Dr. Sonya C. Brown 

scbrown@uncfsu.edu 
Butler 136
(910) 672-1861

woman standing in front of brick wall

Associate Professor
Dr. Elizabeth Bir

ebir@uncfsu.edu
HTC 219
(910) 672-1824

woman in front of bookcase

Assistant Professor
Dr. Aydé Enríquez-Loya

enrique@uncfsu.edu
Butler 387
(910) 672-2507

woman with red hair and brown turtleneck in front of brick wall

Associate Professor
Dr. Brenda Hammack

bhammack@uncfsu.edu
Butler 131
(910) 672-1452

man wearing kufi hat and beige blazer


Associate Professor
Dr. Brooksie Harrington

bharrington@uncfsu.edu
Butler 135
(910) 672-1931

smiling grey-haired man with glasses and striped shirt

Professor
Dr. Eric Hyman

ehyman@uncfsu.edu
Butler 133
(910) 672-1901

grey-haired man smiling with black shirt

Assistant Professor
Dr. Gary McConnell

gmcconnell@uncfsu.edu
Butler 124
(910) 672-1902

woman smiling seated in front of bookcase

Assistant Professor
Dr. Nicole A. McFarlane

nmcfarla@uncfsu.edu
Butler 363-C
(910) 672-2146

smiling grey-haired man in front of brick wall

Associate Professor
Dr. Edward McShane

emcshann@uncfsu.edu
Butler 128 
(910) 672-1934

blond woman smiling in front of brick wall

Associate Professor
Dr. Micki Nyman

mnyma@uncfsu.edu
Williams 206-A
(910) 672-2426

woman with hoop earrings

Associate Professor
Dr. Maria Orban


morban@uncfsu.edu
Butler 125
(910) 672-1049

woman in african hat

Associate Professor
Dr. Joyce Russell

jrussell@uncfsu.edu
Butler 132
(910) 672-1589

        

man with glasses smiling

Associate Professor
Dr. Dean Swinford

dswinfor@uncfsu.edu
Williams 205-A
(910) 672-2425

man in white shirt and black tie smiling


Associate Professor
Dr. Chuck Tryon

ctryon@uncfsu.edu
Butler 126
(910) 672-2223

woman with glasses

Associate Professor
Dr. Alison Van Nyhuis

avannyhu@uncfsu.edu
Williams 214
(910) 672-2506

woman wearing glasses in front of brick wall

Professor & Director of
Professional Writing 
Prof. Carole Weatherford

cweatherford@uncfsu.edu
Butler 129
(910) 672-2149

blonde woman in white shirt and grey cardigan

Lecturer 
Ms. Barbara Blevins

bblevins@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1416

Lecturer
Ms. Vicki Millspaugh-McKenzie
vmckenzie@uncfsu.edu
HTC 131
(910) 672-1768

Lecturer
Ms. Toni Thomas
trthomas01@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1416

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ms. Mary Ferguson
mjferguson01@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1416

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dr. Lonnell Johnson
(910) 672-1416

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us