Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of English

FSU HomeEnglishFaculty & Staff

Advising

CommencementFSU English majors have the opportunity to receive one-on-one advising. Students are encouraged to schedule advising meetings with Ms. Sarah Calhoun via email to discuss course enrollment and degree progression.  

Faculty & Staff

The English Department at FSU features a number of successful writers and researchers. Faculty members include a New York Times bestselling author and an award-winning poet. English professors at FSU have written books on topics ranging from medieval literature to digital cinema.

Faculty Office Hours 

Administrative Staff
woman with glasses standing in front of brick wall woman in polka dot dress seated at desk

Chair & Associate Professor

Dr. Ji Young Kim 
jkim@uncfsu.edu
Butler 123
(910) 672-1848/1417

Administrative Support 
Associate for English


Ms. Vickie Bannon
vbannon@uncfsu.edu
Butler 123
(910) 672-1416

 

Faculty
woman smiling standing in front of brick wall woman wearing glasses in front of brick wall
woman standing in front of brick wall

Associate Professor

Dr. Trela Anderson
tanderson@uncfsu.edu
Butler 130
(910) 672-1933

Professor & Director of 
Professional Writing Pogram


Prof. Carole Weatherford
cweatherford@uncfsu.edu
Butler 129
(910) 672-2149

Associate Professor

Dr. Elizabeth Bir
ebir@uncfsu.edu
HTC 219
(910) 672-1824

woman with red hair and brown turtleneck in front of brick wall man wearing kufi hat and beige blazer smiling grey-haired man with glasses and striped shirt

Associate Professor

Dr. Brenda Hammack
bhammack@uncfsu.edu
Butler 131
(910) 672-1452

Associate Professor

Dr. Brooksie Harrington
bharrington@uncfsu.edu
Butler 135
(910) 672-1931

Professor

Dr. Eric Hyman
ehyman@uncfsu.edu
Butler 133
(910) 672-1901

woman with glasses, slight smile smiling grey-haired man in front of brick wall Joshua M. Murray

Assistant Professor

Dr. Nicole A. McFarlane
nmcfarla@uncfsu.edu
Butler 132
(910) 672-2146

Associate Professor

Dr. Edward McShane
emcshane@uncfsu.edu
Butler 128
(910) 672-1934

Assistant Professor

Dr. Joshua M. Murray

blond woman smiling in front of brick wall woman with hoop earrings man with glasses smiling

Associate Professor &
English Education Coordinator

Dr. Micki Nyman
mnyma@uncfsu.edu
Williams 206-A
(910) 672-2426

Associate Professor

Dr. Maria Orban
morban@uncfsu.edu
Butler 125
(910) 672-1049

Associate Professor

Dr. Dean Swinford
dswinfor@uncfsu.edu
Butler 136
(910) 672-2425  

man in white shirt and black tie smiling woman with glasses blonde woman in white shirt and grey cardigan

Associate Professor

Dr. Chuck Tryon
ctryon@uncfsu.edu
Butler 126
(910) 672-2223

Associate Professor

Dr. Alison Van Nyhuis
avannyhu@uncfsu.edu
Butler 129
(910) 672-2506

Lecturer 

Ms. Barbara Blevins
bblevins@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1861

LaTasha R. Jones

Briana Murrell

Lecturer
Ms. Toni Thomas
trthomas01@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1416


Adjunct Assistant Professor
Dr. Lonnell Johnson
jjohns79@uncfsu.edu
(910) 672-1416

Lecturer

LaTasha R. Jones
ljones51@uncfsu.edu
Butler 363-D
(910) 672-1589

Lecturer/Coordinator of the Writing Center

Briana Murrell
bmurrel1@uncfsu.edu
Helen T. Chick Rm 001B
(910) 672-2455


A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina