Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of English

FSU HomeEnglishFacultyNicole A. McFarlane

Dr. Nicole A. McFarlane

Dr. Nicole McFarlane

Assistant Professor of English Rhetoric and Composition

Office:  Butler Building 363C
Phone:  (910) 672-2146


Rhetorics, Communication & Information Design Clemson University, 2012 

English & African American Literature
North Carolina A&T State University, 2004

Political Science
University of North Carolina Charlotte, 2001 


Nicole Ashanti McFarlane specializes in rhetoric and composition. She teaches professional and business writing with new media. Her research focuses on how emerging technologies mediate citizenship and compose spaces of color in the public sphere.


Sample Publications

Digital Memory and Narrative through "African American Rhetoric[s] 2.O." Review of Digital Griots: African America Rhetoric in a Multimedia Age by Adam Banks for Enculturation: A Journal of Rhetoric, Writing, and Culture.March 2012.

"Carl Owens: Biographical Entry." African American National Biography. Oxford University Press. 2008.

Honors and Awards 

Teaching Assistant Award, Lyotard: Hesitating Thought (with Victor J. Vitanza at EGS), 2011 

Graduate Student Award, International Writing Center Association Summer Institute, 2010

Graduate Travel Award, RSA Summer Institute, 2009

Funded Grants and Research 

Writing Across the Curriculum, Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) Making Evidence-Based Decisions (MEBD) 
Fayetteville State University, 2013-2014

Information Literacy Chesnutt Fellow, QEP MEBD, Fayetteville State University, 2013-2014

Rhetoric Society of America  (RSA)
Graduate Student Event Grant
First Inaugural Graduate Student Webinar
Carolinas Rhetoric Conference
Clemson University, 2011-2012

Kenan Grant for Teaching and Course Design Guilford College, 2007-2008

Faculty Development Award
Guilford College/University of Guadalajara Mexico, 2007




Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us