Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Major Gifts

FSU HomeIAMajorGiftsPlanned GivingBronco Legacy CircleC. I. Brown Club

C. I. Brown Club

Charles I. Brown Charles I. Brown was a professor in the FSU Education Department for more than 30 years. Known for his dedication to his students and to educating others, Brown continued his legacy of dedication through a gift of $100,000 + to FSU. “He was actively involved with the university, not only being an instructor here but he was in with the National Alumni Association. He was a past president of the FSU Retirees Club. He brought national recognition to the university with his National Association of Institutional Research,” former FSU Director of Alumni Affairs, Carolyn Dunston, said. Upon retirement from FSU, Brown donated $10,000 for an endowed a scholarship in his name which is given to an education major each year. Following his death, Brown added to his gift by leaving $100,000 + more to the university.



 Julius Fulmore

Julius Fulmore has been contributing to Fayetteville State University in

so many ways since he graduated in 1948 whether it was jobs for newly graduated teachers, as a member of the FSU National Alumni Association and Class of ’48 officer, as a distinguished member of the FSU Board of Trustees, or as a cherished donor ensuring scholarships funds will be available for future students.  Mr. Fulmore ensured that support by naming FSU in his estate plans.  His motivation was “to provide support to students in perpetuity” though the J.W. Seabrook Scholarship Fund for students in Teacher Education and the Lucille and Julius Fulmore Endowed Scholarship Fund for students from Davie, Guilford, or Robeson counties.





Leonza Loftin Dr. Leonza Loftin has been contributing to Fayetteville State every year since he graduated in 1968. When a University Department of Development staff member approached him about future gift planning, he didn’t need to be convinced. Loftin became the first person to bequest a gift to FSU, and the first member of the Bronco Legacy Circle.  After being approached about planned giving, Loftin, who currently teaches in the Department of Math and Computer Science at FSU, spoke with his family about it and gladly agreed. Loftin feels his bequest is a great way to give back to a cause he believes in. He encourages others to give through bequests and planned giving because as he put it, “They will never miss it.” 



Daisy Spears Stroud Daisy Spears Stroud graduated from Fayetteville State in 1941. After dedicating her career to education, she retired after thirty years. Her love for education was cultivated at Fayetteville State and her commitment to the university has shown through her unending support. She recently joined the Bronco Legacy Circle by making FSU a beneficiary in her will.  Stroud and her late husband, Gerson Stroud, were focused on giving others the gift of education. They created a foundation to benefit scholarships at their respective universities.





Stephen McDaniel Stephen McDaniel, as the former Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement at Fayetteville State, spent much of his time fundraising for the university. As an advocate for independent-funded support for the university, he believed in investing that goal himself. McDaniel put action behind his support when he became a member of the Bronco Legacy Circle by making a planned gift to FSU.





Stanley Johnson Stanley Johnson’s love for Fayetteville State University has been shown through the years by his dedication and commitment in service to the university. As a graduate of the university, Johnson’s impact on the university shows throughout the university’s history, and now he has given support that will last forever. Johnson made a legacy gift to the university that will benefit future students by supporting the FSU General Scholarship Fund. Originally from Washington DC, Dr. Stanley Johnson attended FSU from 1959-1963 and graduated with a degree in Elementary Education.  Dr. Johnson currently serves as the student advisor at FSU for the Student NAACP.




Curtis and Janice WorthyCurtis and Janice Worthy








Monica Aligail Clarke

Elizabeth Dargan

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us