Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science

FSU HomeMACSCDepartment News

Department News

Kenneth Howerton received Scholarship (01/09/2017)

Kenneth Howerton, a senior math major, has been named Hercules Scholar, and each will receive a $1,500 scholarship to be awarded by the Tom Joyner Foundation. Click here for more information. 

Math Major Received the IMREL Student Award for Excellence in Material Research (12/05/2016)

Congratulations to Mr. Machael Simpson for receiving the IMREL Student Award for Excellence in Material Research. This award is the highest honor to recognize student's research efforts and achievements at IMREL, a laboratory funded by the National Science Foundation at Fayetteville State University. The awards carries a $500 stipend. 

Eight computer science majors receive stipend from CREU! (06/30/2016)

Ashlee F. Gaskins, Brittany Jennette, Daphne M. Faircloth, Donny A. Lopera  who will work with Dr. Bhattacharya are awarded $13,500 from Collaborative Research Experience for Undergraduates (CREU) program for the academic year of 2016-2017.

John J. Futrell, Lee S. Gibson, Eure I. Ronald,  Samuel Cooper  who will work with Dr. Czejdo are also awarded $13,500 from  CREU program for the academic year of 2016-2017.

Congratulations to  Daphne Faircloth and James Fisher! (05/31/2016)

Daphne Faircloth and James Fisher  are award full scholarship to attend the the Swarmathon / Becoming a Robot Guru:  Integrating Science, Engineering, and Creativity Workshops. 

Our team wins 1st place in the 2016 NASA Swarmathon! (04/21/2016)

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is proud that our team has won first place in the 2016 NASA Swarmathon physical competition. Student teams participating in the competition developed algorithms for collaborating robots called "swarmies" to efficiently collect resources distributed over an area. This competition is designed to challenge students to refine their software coding abilities and develop new algorithms. By participating, students also help NASA's mission of exploration since in the future, swarm robotics technology is likely to be used to practice in-situ resource utilization (ISRU), that is, harvesting and relying on available raw materials, as astronauts  explore deep-space destinations. 
The team members are James Fisher, Michael Backus,​ Samuel Ndiwe, Nathaniel Spindler, Tyrone Thomas-Wesley and Syrus Gaddy. The student team  was advised by Dr. Sambit Bhattacharya, Associate Professor of Computer Science. The team traveled with him to the Kennedy Space Center on the days of the competition, April 19 - 22. The travel was generously supported by the Center for Defense and Homeland Security of FSU. The students brought back the trophy for the first place and won a cash prize of $5,000. The competition will be again held in the next two years with modifications to the robot design & capabilities, and competition format & rules. The department looks forward to increased student participation in the competition. Interested students are asked to contact Dr. Bhattacharya (

Congratuations to   James Inscoe! (04/18/2016)

The Henry Eldridge Department of Math & Computer Science is proud to announce that James Inscoe (A Computer Science Major) obtained a summer 2016 internship at the Berkeley Lab University Faculty Fellowship (BLUFF) Program at Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory (LBNL). As a student member, Mr. Inscoe will be performing undergraduate research on 'Protein Structure Predictions' using experimental and neuromorphic computational methods. This opportunity awarded him the amount of $7,500.00. James (an FSU senior) applied for four plus (4 +) opportunities which closely matched his skills in computer programming. He will tentatively perform in this position from June 6, 2016 - August 6, 2016 with the mentorship of Dr. Bogdan Czejdo and two additional computational research advisors from Berkley Lab.  

Congratulations to Ingram Jansen! (04/11/2016)

Mr. Ingram Jansen, a computer science major, got accepted for a competitive summer internship at Eastern Carolina University (NSF-REU program). He will be working with Dr. Jianchu Yao from the ECU's department of engineering on medical research data analysis. More information about the ECU REU program is availavle at

Congratulations to the following recipients of the department awards for the 2015-2016 acedemic year (03/31/2016)

  • Teacher of the Year ......................... Dr. Wu Jing 
  •  Researcher of the Year ................... Dr. Sambit Bhattacharya
  •  Advisor of the Year ......................... Dr. Bing Wu
  •  Award for Grants ............................ Dr. Sambit Bhattacharya
  •  Student of the Year                    

          Computer Science Major ........................... Mr. Bruce Osnoe                    

          Mathematics Major ..................................... Mr. Jeremiah Walker

Congratulations to Michael Backus! (03/14/2016)

Michael Backus, a computer science major, has been accepted in the NASA's Langley Research Center (Hampton, VA) summer program, June 6 - August 12, with a stipend of $6,000 to work on project titled "Virtual Realty Development with Maya, Unity, and C# Programming". 

Congratulations to Samuel Cooper! (03/14/2016)

Samual Cooper, a computer science major, has been accepted to participate in the 11-week NIST SURF Gaithersburg program this summer. He will be working on a project titled "Software Development for the OOF Materials Modeling Project". 

Math and Computer Science Department to Sponsor Faculty STEM Conference (01/26/2016)

The Teaching to Increase Diversity and Equity in STEM (TIDES) Grant Initiative of Fayetteville State University's (FSU) Department of Math & Computer Science will host a faculty conference in the Rudolph Jones Student Center (CR #238) on January 29, 2016, from noon to 3 p.m. The conference is entitled Culturally Responsive Teaching: Learning through Experience and the keynote speaker will be Dr. Juliette Bell, Chancellor of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES). Bell also served as professor and Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at FSU.

The conference continues Saturday, January 30, 2016, from 9:00 a.m. to 3 p.m. Keynote speaker will be Dr. Robert Taylor, Superintendent of Bladen County Schools.Campus administrators and faculty of STEM disciplines are welcome to attend. RSVP to Dr. Mary Ferguson at by 5 p.m. on January 18, 2016.


College News

University News

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina