Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Male Initiative

FSU HomeMale InitiativeMeet the Staff

Staff Bios

Dr. D. Jason DeSousa serves as Fayetteville State University's Assistant Vice Chancellor of Student Retention. A graduate of Morgan State University, where he earned the B.S. degree, DeSousa returned to his alma mater, serving in various capacities such as assistant vice president for academic affairs & university registrar, assistant vice president for student affairs, associate professor of higher education, and director of the Institute for Student Leadership, Character Development and Outcomes.

He started his professional career at the historic Tuskegee University in Alabama, where he was director of career development. Other positions for which he has held include Huston-Tillotson University as provost and vice president for academic and student affairs, Clark Atlanta University as vice president for enrollment management and student affairs, Savannah State University as vice president for student affairs, and Alabama State University as assistant vice president for student affairs.

A former president of the National Association of Student Affairs Professionals, DeSousa served as the first associate executive director of the Bloomington, Indiana-based national headquarters of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Inc. and was an assistant executive director of the international headquarters of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. As a member of Kappa Alpha Psi, he served as a member of Grand Board of Directors and was the first undergraduate to ever chair the Grand Board of Appeals. He is a recipient of the Fraternity's coveted "Guy L. Grant Award." He has also served as Polemarch of the Bloomington Alumni Chapter and Advisor of the Alpha Chapter.

DeSousa was appointed by the International Center for Student Success & Institutional Accountability as co-coordinator of its Internet-based "African American Male Student Persistence and Success Community of Practice." To date, he has been awarded nearly one million dollars in external grants for student retention, persistence, leadership, and diversity projects, including grants for the establishment of male-oriented student success projects.

 He earned the Master of Arts degree in higher education and student affairs from Bowling Green State University and the Doctor of Education degree in higher education administration from Indiana University Bloomington, where he was a Ford Foundation Fellow.

Ms. Carolyn Newman

Mr. B. Dexter Sharp II

Peer Leaders

Mr. Deonte Black a Physical Education major.


Mr. Jason Carnes an Elementary Education major.


Mr. Tre' Cooper a Biology Major.


Mr. Akanni Evans a Pre-Medical major.

Mr. Michael Harris a Criminal Justice major.


Mr. Travis Herndon a Computer Science major.

Mr. William Mobley a Business Administration major.


Mr. Vaughn Pitts a Mathematics Education major.


Mr. Delonte' Ward a Mass Communications major.

Mr. Aric Williams a Business Administration major.

Mr. Trashon Williams a Criminal Justice major.

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us