Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Office of Teacher Education

FSU HomeOTETeacher Education Committee

Teacher Education Committee

The Teacher Education Committee is the existing body which ensures adherence to standards of state, regional and national accrediting agencies. Therefore, it assumes the responsibility to facilitate and coordinate program evaluation efforts related to teacher education across all teaching licensure areas.

The Committee believes that a formal, systematic and continuous evaluation process of teacher education and licensure is critical to maintaining excellence in the preparation of teachers.

All teacher preparation programs adhere to the policies and procedures outlined by the Teacher Education Committee.  The Teacher Education Committee develops, recommends, and implements curriculum policies and general administrative decisions involving the preparation of teachers.


Appointments to The Teacher Education Committee are made by the Dean of the College of Education. The membership consists of university professors, candidate majors, public school representatives, and central office personnel.

The Committee meets regularly during the school year at the following location:

Charles Chestnut Library                                             Butler Building 325 (As specified)
2nd Floor - Curriculum Lab                                          3rd floor
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

For specific meeting dates, you may contact the Office of Teacher Education.

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina