Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Office of the Registrar

FSU HomeRegistrarRe-Enrollment

Undergraduate Re-enrolling Instructions

Welcome back to Fayetteville State University!  

Stop Sign DO NOT USE GOOGLE CHROME or FIREFOX to complete this application. Please use Internet Explorer. Functionality will be limited when using Google Chrome or Firefox.

*You may apply for Summer I, Summer II and Fall 2017

 How do I get started?

Do you meet the requirements below?

  • You are a first-time degree-seeking student
  • You have not been enrolled at FSU for two or fewer consecutive semesters
  • Your cumulative GPA is 2.0 or greater
  • You have attempted less than 180 credit hours
  • You meet the 67% completion rate
  • You have not attended any other institution since you were last enrolled
  • Reenrollment does not apply to recent graduates, special visiting, or second degree-seeking students.  You must be readmitted to the University.

If you meet these requirements, Apply Here

  • The application fee is waived.
  • You will be notified via email within 3-5 business days regarding your application decision.

 If you do not meet the requirements above, Apply Here 

 Application deadlines are as follows:

  • Fall Semester - August 10
  • Spring Semester - December 10
  • Summer Session I - May 15
  • Summer Session II - June 15

New Residency Process

Residency Policy

In compliance with state law, the University of North Carolina system now requires students( re-enrolled and readmitted) to request a residency classification from the new Residency Determination Service (RDS). RDS is the entity responsible for all new classifications of residency in North Carolina.

The specific requirements for establishing residency for tuition purposes and for eligibility for State financial aid are prescribed by state law.  A North Carolina resident for tuition purposes (and for State financial aid consideration) is a person, or a dependent person (dependent according to IRS tax code - not the FAFSA definition of dependency), whose parent or legal guardian has established and maintained legal residence in North Carolina for at least 12 months.

Residence in North Carolina must be legitimate and be a permanent situation rather than just for the purpose of maintaining a residence prior to enrollment at an institution of higher education.Under North Carolina law, to qualify for in-state residency, you must show that you:

  • Have established your legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina, and
  • Have maintained that domicile for at least twelve (12) consecutive months before the beginning of the term, and
  • Have a residentiary presence in the state, and
  • Intend to make North Carolina your permanent home indefinitely (rather than being in North Carolina solely to attend college)

Persons not meeting the 12-month legal residence requirement may be classified as North Carolina residents for tuition purposes only if they fall within one of the limited "exception" categories authorized by the North Carolina Legislature. All others are ineligible for classification as a North Carolina "resident for tuition purposes" and will be charged out-of-state tuition and not be given consideration for State financial aid. To learn more about residency and complete a determination go to www.NCresidency.org.More information:

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina