Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

School of Education


Proud to be
School of Education building

The School of Education is one of the oldest, most respected schools of education in this region of the USA. We offer a broad range of undergraduate programs, master's degrees, and a doctoral program in Educational Leadership.

Dean's Greeting

Welcome to the School of Education at Fayetteville State University, where we have maintained continued accreditation from the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) since 1954. In fact, the university began its proud history as a teacher’s college. Our commitment is to prepare highly qualified teachers and other school personnel through the development, administration, supervision, and evaluation of the programs we offer. The School of Education is home to three departments: Educational Leadership; Elementary Education; and Middle Grades, Secondary, and Specialized Subjects. The 10 BS, 6 M. Ed., the MSA, and the Ed. D programs offered in these departments are designed to prepare professionals who are scholars and facilitators of learning. All teacher education programs are approved by the North Carolina State Board of Education. <Read More>

Of Interest

Black Men Teaching Apple

Faculty Resources

New SOE Administrators




Invitation for Third-Party Testimony
for Fayetteville State University

Butler building

School of Education
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Rd.
Fayetteville, NC 28301
G.L. Butler Building, Room 232

Hours: M-F, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (910) 672-1265
Fax: (910) 672-2885

Dr. Leontye L. Lewis, Dean
Ms. Maxine McFayden, Administrative Secretary


National Collegeate Accreditation Teacher Education Visit
April 12-14, 2015

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us