Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

School of Education

FSU HomeSOEDean's Advisory Board

Dean's Advisory Board

FSU Logo

School of Education Dean's Advisory Board

1.  Guidelines, Goals, and Terms

The Dean's Advisory Board is intended to support the Dean in achieving the mission of the School of Education. 

SOE Mission Statement

In support of the mission of Fayetteville State University, the School of Education (SOE) is committed to educating and preparing individuals at the undergraduate and graduate levels for professions in the fields of teaching, administration, research, and service. The SOE prepares knowledgeable, reflective, and caring professionals who have the knowledge, skills, and dispositions to support student learning, within a framework of family and community participation for a diverse, technological, and global society. The SOE is further committed to providing executive school leadership throughout the region, state, and nation.

SOE Conceptual Framework

The conceptual framework of the SOE is reflected in this course and establishes a shared vision of its efforts in preparing educators to work effectively in P-12 schools. It defines the educator as a Facilitator of Learning, one who seeks to make the learning process accessible and one who enables learning to take place successfully.  This presupposes that the educator is reflective and serves as a catalyst, stimulator, and motivator of the teaching for learning process. The conceptual framework defines the unit’s vision, which underscores the school’s purpose for preparing its candidates for teaching and leadership roles in a global society. The unit prepares candidates who support student learning, within the context of family and community participation, for a diverse, technological, and global society. We achieve this vision through teaching, research, and service. The themes of our conceptual framework are: (1) caring dispositions and ethical responsibility; (2) communication; (3) knowledgeable and reflective educators; (4) research and leadership; (5) respect for diversity and individual worth; (6) technological competence and educational applications; and (7) working with families and communities.

The Advisory Board provides high-level direction to ensure the School’s programs are balanced, comprehensive, and aligned with current educational policies and successful strategies.  Members of the Board are expected to:

  • Advise the Dean in the overall development of the School
  • Serve as a role model for our students
  • Provide guidance in maintaining programs and curriculum to meet the needs of a global learner in a 21st Century society
  • Assist the Dean in fundraising to meet specific goals as identified by the Board
  • Promote a positive image of the School 
Terms and Meetings
  • Board members serve a three year term with staggered rotation off the Board
  • The Board meets two times a year: October and April 
2.    Membership
  1. Ms. Gloria Moore Carter
  2. Mr. Henry McKoy
  3. Mr. Samuel Greene (Chair)
  4. Mr. Charles Worthy 
  5. Dr. Carrie J. Sutton 
  6. Ms. Mary C. Owens 
  7. Dr. Ethel Gore 
  8. Ms. Cynthia McCormic 
  9. Mr. James Hargett 
  10. Mr. Greg Reames
  11. Dr. Frank Till
  12. Mr. Larry Simmons 
  13. Dr. Robert Taylor
  14. Dr. Willis McLeod
  15. Mrs. Dorothy Hardy
  16. Leontye L. Lewis, Dean 
Working Committees

Board members are assigned to two primary committees: (1) Marketing and Fundraising and (2) Curriculum, Recruitment, and Retention.

Committee assignments are as follows:

Marketing and Fundraising 

Mr. Greg Reames
Ms. Carrie Sutton
Mr. Henry McKoy
Dr. Samuel Greene
Ms. Gloria Moore-Carter (Chair)
Dr. Ethel Gore
Mr. Larry Simmons
Ms. Mary C. Owens
Ms. Cindy McCormic

Curriculum, Recruiting, and Retention 

Ms. Carrie Sutton
Mr. James Hargett
Ms. Gloria Moore-Carter
Ms. Mary C. Owens
Dr. Frank Till (Chair)
Mr. Charles Worthy
Ms. Cindy McCormic
Dr. Robert Taylor

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us