Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Coordination Office for Title III Programs

FSU HomeTitleiiiReportsHistory


Forty-nine years ago the U.S. Congress recognized the critical need to assure that the benefits of a higher education be made accessible to everyone. Title III of the Higher Education Act of 1965 was enacted to provide Federal assistance for a program to strengthen and improve the academic quality, Title III of the Higher Education Act of 1965 was enacted to provide Federal assistance for a program to strengthen and improve the academic quality, strengthen the administrative capacity, and establish an endowment fund in order to achieve growth and self-sufficiency for developing institutions. Amendments to the Act have altered some of the elements of the program, but it remains basically as written-an instrument to provide assistance to institutions demonstrating a constructive effort to strengthen themselves.  The annual amount allocated by Congress to support the Title III Programs exceeds $300,000,000 of which Historically Black Institutions under the Obama Administration receives approximately $250,000,000. In recent years, nearly 500 colleges and universities throughout the United States, its territories, and possessions have received Title III funds annually.

The current Title III legislation authorizes three distinct programs:  Part A - Strengthening Institution Programs; Part B - Strengthening Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) Program (undergraduate) and Strengthening Historically Black Graduate Institutions (HBGI) Program;  and Part C - Endowment Challenge Grant Program.  Fayetteville State University presently receives support under the undergraduate program  of Part B and formally under Part C.

Fayetteville State University has been a Title III grantee continuously since the latter half of the 1960s. The institution is the recipient of three federal grants that are managed by the Title III office they include the Title III Undergraduate Programs, the Mandated/SAFRA (formerly College Cost Reduction Act Allocation/CCRAA) and the Master's Degree Program. The program's funding level is listed on the news page under funding history.

At the national level, the Title III Programs are administered by the Division of Institutional Development within the Office of Postsecondary Education.  Title III is referred to as the "President's Program" (Chancellor's in FSU's case) since the funds are awarded to support institutional priorities identified by the university's administration. Though the chief executive's involvement is not required in the day-to-day operation of the Title III Project, he is expected to be knowledgeable about its impact upon the issues and priorities identified in the grant application.

Fayetteville State University1200 Murchison Road • Fayetteville, NC 28301 • 910.672.1111
Copyright © • A Constituent Institution of The University of North CarolinaContact Us