About Graduate Programs

We have affordable and convenient online options as well as traditional on-campus classes.

The organizational structure of graduate programs at Fayetteville State University is a decentralized model. The College of Arts and Sciences, the Broadwell College of Business and Economics, and the College of Education are responsible for the graduate programs within the college. The graduate faculty, program coordinators/directors, department chairs, assistant/associate deans, and the dean of each college are directly responsible to ensure that each degree program is of the highest quality. Each college has a Graduate Programs Committee. The university-wide FSU Graduate Council provides oversight to all graduate programs at the university.

Graduate Program Contacts


Educational Leadership Director: Dr. Landon R. Hadley, (910) 672-2319, lhadley@uncfsu.edu

Master of Business Administration

MBA Director of Admissions: Mr. John Scarsella, (910) 672-2910, jscarsel@uncfsu.edu 
MBA Interim Director: Dr. Petur O. Jonsson, (910) 672-1984, pjonsson@uncfsu.edu 
MBA Program Specialist: Ms. Rachael Johnson, (910) 672-1197, rjohnson@uncfsu.edu 
CBE Advisor: Ms. Berrak Walters, (910) 672-1218, kwalter3@uncfsu.edu 


Criminal Justice: Dr. Karen McElrath, (910) 672-2193, kmcelra1@uncfsu.edu
Elementary and Reading Education: Dr. Priscilla Manarino-Leggett, (910) 672-1586, pleggett@uncfsu.edu 
Middle Grades Education: Dr. Cynthia Shamberger, (910) 672-1181, cshamber@uncfsu.edu
Psychology: Dr. Whitney Wall, (910) 672-1903, wwall1@uncfsu.edu 
School Administration: Dr. Paris Jones, (910) 672-1262, pjones@uncfsu.edu
Secondary Education: Dr. Cynthia Shamberger, (910) 672-1181, cshamber@uncfsu.edu 
Social Work: Dr. Quienton L. Nichols, (910) 672-2144, qnichols@uncfsu.edu 
Sociology: Dr. Akbar Aghajanian, (910) 672-2927, aaghajanian@uncfsu.edu
Special Education: Dr. Cynthia Shamberger, (910) 672-1181, cshamber@uncfsu.edu 


Business: Dr. Petur O. Jonsson, (910) 672-1984, pjonsson@uncfsu.edu
Clinical Practice: Dr. Sharon E. Williams, (910) 672-2675, swill113@uncfsu.edu
Criminal Justice: Dr. Karen McElrath, (910) 672-2193, kmcelra1@uncfsu.edu
Cyber Security Management: Mr. John Scarsella, (910) 672-2910,  jscarsel@uncfsu.edu
Data Science: Dr. Valentin Milanov, (910) 672-2202, vmilanov@uncfsu.edu
Health Care Management: Mr. John Scarsella, (910) 672-2910, jscarsel@uncfsu.edu
Military Behavioral Health: Dr. Dennis Corbin, (910) 672-1737, dcorbin3@uncfsu.edu
Professional Writing: Ms. Carole Weatherford, (910) 672-2149, cweatherford@uncfsu.edu
Project Management: Mr. John Scarsella, (910) 672-2910, jscarsel@uncfsu.edu
Sociology: Dr. Akbar Aghajanian, (910) 672-2927, aaghajanian@uncfsu.edu
Substance Abuse Studies: Dr. Oliver Johnson, (910) 672-2214, ojohnso1@uncfsu.edu
Teaching of Writing: Ms. Carole Weatherford, (910) 672-2149, cweatherford@uncfsu.edu

Professional Development

Advisor: Ms. Cheryl McGhee, (910) 672-1229, cmghee@uncfsu.edu

Graduate Council and Committees

Graduate Council Chair: Dr. Alison Van Nyhuis, Director of Graduate Council and Program Review, (910) 672-2506, avannyhu@uncfsu.edu: Completed materials (graduate faculty applications, academic proposals, etc.), with all signatures up to the Graduate Council Chair (Department Chair, Dean, etc.), must be submitted to the Graduate Council on Friday, 10 days before the Graduate Council meeting during which the materials are to be considered.
Graduate Council Graduate Catalog Committee ChairMs. Sarah D. Baker, University Registrar, (910) 672-1918, sdbaker@uncfsu.edu
Graduate Council Graduate Faculty Applicaton Committee Chair: Dr. Petur O. Jonsson, MBA Interim Director, (910) 672-1984, pjonsson@uncfsu.edu 
College of Arts and Sciences Graduate Programs Committee Chair: Dr. Miriam DeLone, Assistant Dean, (910) 672-2271, mdelone@uncfsu.edu
Broadwell College of Business and Economics Graduate Programs Committee Chair: Dr. Petur O. Jonsson, MBA Interim Director, (910) 672-1984, pjonsson@uncfsu.edu 
College of Education Graduate Programs Committee Chair: Dr. Ereka R. Williams, Associate Dean, (910) 672-1667,  ewilliams6@uncfsu.edu