Fayetteville State University Staff Senate Meeting J.C. Jones Boardroom – 2nd Floor, Charles Chesnutt Library Thursday, May 21, 2015

Minutes

Attendance: Patricia Flanigan, Velappan Velappan, Suzetta Perkins, Cindy Wetherwax, Diana Anthony, Sandra Hughes, Denice Ferguson, Cassandra Jenkins, Byron Riddick, Tonya Williams, Carlitta Moore, Natasha Walker, Jacqueline Harris, Teresa Griffin, India Sawyer, Maggie Chan, Sandra Woodard, Keith Townsend, Rodney McCrowre, and Xenia Lopez.

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 2:07 p.m. by President Patricia Flanigan.

The Agenda for the meeting was approved.

The minutes from the April Staff Senate Meeting were presented and approved.

President's Report - Patricia Flanigan

- President Flanigan gave thanks for the words of sympathy, prayers, and the beautiful plant arrangement she received from the Staff Senate on the passing of her sister. She also gave thanks to Senator Tonya Williams and the Events Planning Committee for a successful Staff Appreciation Week.
- 2. A retreat will be held at the June Staff Senate meeting. The intent is to ensure new senators elected have a smooth transition on what will be their role and responsibility for chairing a committee and also what is expected of them.
- 3. President Flanigan requested for each chair of a committee to complete a report and submit to her by June 11, 2015. This information is needed in order to complete the Staff Senate annual report for the Chancellor.

Senator Byron Riddick attended a retreat that was held in Charlotte, NC. It was comprised of GA, staff and faculty from all 17 schools. There were two (2) members from the Board of Governors (BoG) who were in attendance to observe. There will be a new policy procedure and talks are being held with GA. A request for changes to the Adverse Weather Policy was submitted but did not pass. An employee will not be able to use vacation leave for adverse weather because vacation leave has to be approved before it can be used. There will be nine new members for the BoG this November. The enrollment at Winston-Salem and UNC Pembroke has dropped thus these schools are hurting. FSU is unique as we have many non-traditional students to include military students. State employees should not expect a raise this year. They are planning on scheduling more meetings of delegates by videoconference. Also, they are looking closely at who are the delegates from the different schools.

Election of Executives Officers – Vice President Velappan Velappan informed the reason the election for the executive officers for 2015-2016 was being held in May and not at the usual June meeting, is because the Staff Assembly is requesting each school to provide the names of their executive board by early June. He stated there was a quorum to have the election, 16 senators in attendance of the total 24 senators. He added only current senators were eligible to vote and that the newly elected senators could not vote until they fulfill one year as senator, per the By-Laws. The ballots were distributed and the election was held. The votes were counted by Diana Anthony, Maggie Chan and Teresa Griffin. The elected members to serve as Executive Officers for 2015-2016 are:

President – Patricia Flanigan

Vice President – Velappan Velappan

Secretary – Xenia Lopez

Corresponding Secretary – Suzetta Perkins

Treasurer – Natasha Walker (Senator Walker declined the selection and the next elected person was Denise Ferguson)

Parliamentarian – Rodney McCrowre

Web Coordinator – Shunta' Hailey

Membership Coordinator – Cassandra Jenkins (Senator Jenkins declines the selection and the next elected person was Seneva Miles. Senator Miles was absent and therefore will need to be contacted to see if she accepts)

Appointment of Delegates to UNC Staff Assembly – President Flanigan stated she was informed by Senator Velappan that Senator Leslie Tukes contacted him and stated she will no longer participate in the Staff Senate once her term is up in June 2015. Senator Velappan will replace Senator Tukes as an FSU delegate to the Staff Assembly. Senator Carlitta Moore volunteered to be the alternate delegate. Senator Riddick stated a person does not have to be a senator in order to be a delegate.

Committee Reports -

- a. **Hospitality Committee** Senator Rodney McCrowre reported the minutes are located on the S:drive.
- b. Election Committee Senator Velappan gave thanks to all who submitted nominations. He stated he was contacted regarding sending a ballot through email for voting and could not because per the By-Laws, senators have to be present in order to vote. He also reported the Staff Assembly meeting for the new chairs/presidents for the 2015-2016 academic year will be held via satellite.
- c. **Events Planning Committee** Senator Williams reported the Staff Appreciation Week was a big success and gave thanks to everyone for their support and hard work. She stated the committee has developed a survey to forward campus-wide for feedback on the events held. Ms. Teresa Griffin presented a briefing on the survey. President Flanigan instructed all who have receipts for reimbursement to submit to Senator Walker.

- d. **By-Laws Committee** President Flanigan stated the committee will need to begin reviewing the By-Laws in order to see what committees are active and which ones will need to be abolished.
- e. Senator Xenia Lopez, Mr. Keith Townsend and Ms. Diana Anthony volunteered for the Staff Senate Scholarship Committee.

New Business – Senator Carlitta Moore announced she is running for Ms. Alumni and requested the support of all Staff Senate members.

Ms. Cindy Wetherwax, public safety officer, reminded all to be safe for the Memorial Day Holiday.

Adjournment – The meeting was adjourned at 3:07.

Xenia López Secretary, Staff Senate