FAYETTEVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY

MINUTES STAFF SENATE MEETING J.C. Jones Board Room, 2nd Floor, Charles Chesnutt Library Thursday, June 15, 2017 2:00 p.m.

The FSU Staff Senate convened on Thursday, June 17, 2017, at 2:00 p.m. in the J.C. Jones Board Room, in the Charles Chesnutt Library. President Claudette Fuller called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

ATTENDANCE

The following were in attendance: Claudette Fuller, Patricia Flanigan, Velappan Velappan, Cassandra Jenkins, Tonya D. Williams, Arnescia Moody, Carlitta Moore, Keith Townsend, Cindia Weatherwax, Suzetta Perkins, Michelle Saunders, Tammy Owens, Stephania Oates, Linda Saunders, Monique Alexander, Maggie Chan, Deborah Keller, Sonya Knight, Roni D. Stearns, Nichelle Young, and Winette Vann.

MINUTES

The minutes from May 2017 were approved.

DR. YOUNG'S REPORT

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Jon Young stated there is progress being made for our staff. Staff Appreciation went well and administration and staff are looking forward to next year and the sesquicentennial.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

A vendor is being selected for the Employee Engagement Survey. Bonus Leave payout will take place in June. The State Health Plan will be more affordable and a pay increase of 1.5% is being proposed. The House is discussing a \$1,000 increase across the board. A bill is also being reviewed to adjust EHRA/SHRA pay.

Mr. Velappan Velappan stated the Election Committee had a meeting on Tuesday, May 16th. The election nominees are complete. An email was sent to Shanta, as she stated she will try to put in Canvas today. We will try to start the election by tomorrow. Institutional Advancement has only one nomination. No election will be held at this time but at a later time if needed. The election will go through May 30th.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE

NO REPORT GIVEN

BYLAWS COMMITTEE

NO REPORT GIVEN- a suggestion was made to have the President-Elect transition in to observe the current president for a year and then fully assume the role of President following this observation period.

ELECTION COMMITTEE

Election of new Executive Officers to be held at the current meeting. All officers will officially assume their role on August 17, 2017.

COMPUTER LOAN PROGRAM COMMITTEE

All documents have been submitted to President Fuller. Chancellor Anderson liked the program. Nick Ganesan (ITTS) has approved with the understanding that all surplus machines will be available. Chair of the committee will be placed on Terminations list. A meeting with Attorney Jenkins will be held and an email following the meeting will be forwarded to Senator Suzetta Perkins.

HOSPITALITY COMMITTEE

The storage closet has been cleaned and organized. More mugs are needed for the upcoming term to present to employees monthly at New Employee Orientation.

EVENTS PLANNING

A meeting with Senator Natasha Walker is needed for last expenses. The Staff Appreciation event went well. Senator Perkins has more shirts available for those who would like one.

COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

A June publication wasn't released but there is information to get out to employees. Administration has given kudos to the Senate for a job well done.

MR. & MS. STAFF

Our new Mr. & Ms. Staff have been invited to attend the Board of Trustees Meeting. Dr. Bertha Miller would like a list of past Presidents of the Senate as well as past Mr. & Ms. Staff winners for her book.

BUDGET REPORT

NO REPORT GIVEN

The election of new Executive Officers was held and the results are as follows:

President- Velappan Velappan
Vice President- Arnecia Moody
Secretary- Suzetta Perkins
Corresponding Secretary- Roni D. Stearns
Treasurer-Natasha Walker
Parliamentarian- Patricia Flanigan
Membership Coordinator- Michelle Saunders
Coordinator of Website- VACANT POSITION

The meeting Senate enjoyed fellowship during our End of the Year Potluck and the meeting was adjourned at 3:01 PM.