Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Communication

FSU HomeCLCCommunicationProgram

About the Program

Communication Picture

We are proud to offer a unique blending of sister disciplines in an effort to provide the FSU community the best possible program in Communication. The BA program in Communication consists of a ten course core and three concentrations. Students can choose one of three Concentrations: the Mass Communication Concentration, with its emphasis on practical industry-related courses and experiences, the Professional Communication Concentration, with its emphasis on professional and personal communication skills, or the Journalism Concentration.



The degree program requires a total of 120 credit hours. Students will complete 45 credits in the University College Core, 51 credits in Communication, 6 credits in a Foreign Language sequence and 18 credits in a minor or free elective credit. All majors take ten core courses to familiarize themselves with our subject areas and then focus on one of three Concentrations by taking an additional six elective courses in their desired area of focus. All students are also required to take 6 hours of a foreign language sequence, and one internship, though many choose to do more.



Although ALL students should see their advisors for course advisement and graduation preparation, ALL students are responsible for understanding and fulfilling the requirements of the program as listed in the catalog. 

Offered Programs
Offered Minors
Of Interest


A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina