Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

University-School Teacher Education Partnership (USTEP)

FSU HomeCollege of EducationUSTEPProfessional Development Schools

Professional Development Schools

The National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) defines a Professional Development School as a collaboration between schools, colleges or departments of education, P-12 schools, school districts, and professional associations. The partnering institutions share responsibility for:

  • clinical preparation of new teachers
  • continuing development of school and university faculty 
  • support of children's learning
  • support of research directed toward the improvement or teaching and learning.

It is a unique and profitable concept that generates cooperation among professors, teachers, teacher interns students, and parents. It is a win-win opportunity.


School SystemsSuperintendents
Cumberland County Schools Dr. Frank Till
Fort Bragg Schools Dr. Emily Marsh
Clinton City Schools Dr. Stuart Blount
Hoke County Schools Dr. Freddie Williamson
Sampson County Schools Dr. Eric Bracy
A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina