Academic Affairs

SCHEDULE FOR THE 2020-21 ACADEMIC YEAR

Our academic calendar has changed at the recommendation of the UNC System's world­ class infectious disease and public health experts, and state and local health officials. The goals are to maximize the time on campus, to facilitate our ability to clean and disinfect campus facilities, and to minimize the disruptions and potential health hazards of travel during the semester. Fall semester classes will begin a few weeks earlier than originally planned, on Wednesday, August 5, and final exams will conclude before Thanksgiving. There will not be a Fall Break in 2020. The spring semester will begin several weeks later than normal, on Monday, Jan. 25th. There will be no Spring Break in 2021.

Dec. 20, 2020 Sun FAFSA Priority Filing Date
Jan. 4, 2021 Mon First day of J-Term: Jan. 4, 2021
Jan. 25, 2021 Mon First day of regular semester - Jan. 25, 2021
Jan. 30, 2021 Sat Students Accounts will pay financial aid
Feb. 2, 2021 Mon Course withdrawals/University withdrawals begin
Feb. 8, 2021 Mon Deadline to add/remove nonattendance grade; 10:00 am Drop for nonattendance courses; 12:00 pm
Feb. 12, 2021 Fri Student Accounts will issue refunds
Feb. 15, 2021 Mon First Time Freshmen awards for 2021-2022
Mar. 15, 2021 Mon Midterms begin
Mar. 19, 2021 Fri Midterms end
Mar. 24, 2021 Wed Midterm grades due
Apr. 5, 2021 Mon Last day for course withdrawals
Apr. 5, 2021 Mon Fall 2021 registration begins
Apr. 16, 2021 Fri Last day for university withdrawals
Apr. 26, 2021 Mon Finals begin for Graduate and Doctoral graduating students
Apr. 29, 2021 Thu Last day of class before finals begin
Apr. 30, 2021 Fri Finals end for Graduate and Doctoral graduating students
Apr. 30, 2021 Fri Deadline for scholarship application for 2021-2022
Apr. 30, 2021 Fri Finals begin for all others
May 4, 2021 Tue Grades due for Graduate/Doctoral graduating students - 5:00 pm
May 5, 2021 Wed Clearance forms due - Graduate/Doctoral graduating students 12pm
May 6, 2021 Thu Commencement rehearsal for Graduate/Doctoral Students
May 6, 2021 Thu Finals end for all others
May 7, 2021 Fri Undergraduate Commencement rehearsal
May 8, 2021 Sat Undergraduate Commencement
May 12, 2021 Wed Final grades due at 5:00 pm
Jun. 15, 2021 Tue Continuing students awards for 2021-2022