Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Faculty Senate

FSU HomeFaculty Senate

Proud to be
Faculty Senate
The Faculty Senate

The Fayetteville State University Faculty Senate was established upon adoption of the Faculty Governance Document by the Faculty in accordance with the requirements set out of the Code of the University of North Carolina.

A Representative Body

The Faculty Senate, as a representative body of the general faculty, works in concert with Chancellor Anderson and Provost Young to:

  1. Participate actively in the formulation of academic and governance policies and procedures pertaining to the areas of curriculum, degree requirements, subject matter and methods and standards of instruction, grading criteria, research, faculty affairs, academic budget and those aspects of student life which relate to the educational process.
  2. Provide members of the faculty with a mechanism by which to advise and make recommendations to on any matters pertaining to the institution that are of interest and concern to the faculty.
  3. Act as a deliberative body for the faculty in the formulation and enactment of rules, policies, regulations, and procedures that are of interest and concern to the faculty and the University.
For Your Information

Faculty Senate minutes are available upon request for members of the public (please contact an officer for a copy). FSU faculty have access to minutes through Canvas.

Faculty Senate Officers (2016-2017)

Chair: Chet Dilday
Department of Social Work
Vice Chair: Pius Nyutu
Department of Psychology
Secretary: Jeremy Fiebig
Department of Performing and Fine Arts 
Parliamentarian: Dennis Corbin
Department of Social Work

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina