Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Department of Mathematics and Computer Science


Proud to be
Student by computer
Expand your mind

This is your time to expand your mind and your horizons, to achieve what you’ve always envisioned and even that which you never imagined. At FSU, you can experience the exceptional faculty support made possible by a commitment to small class sizes and to recruiting professors with outstanding credentials.

Our Department Receives $2 Million National Science Foundation Grant

Fayetteville State University’s (FSU) Mathematics and Computer Science Department was notified by the National Science Foundation (NSF) of a grant award totaling $2 million for the “Implementation Project: Strengthening Student Success in STEM (S^4).” The project proposal was led and will be implemented by Dr. Daniel I. Okunbor (Math & Computer Science), project investigator, along with Drs. Dong Wang (math & Computer Science), Daniel Autrey (Chemistry & Physics), and Khalid M. Lodhi (Biological Sciences). The award will begin June 15, 2017 and end May 2021. See more information here.

Our Programs

Our programs of study prepare graduates for careers in teaching, business, industry, and government, or for further study. >> Read More


Of Interest
  • We offer the Cisco CCNA certification curriculum which includes three courses that prepare students for the most current CCNA exams. >> Read More
  • CS program won an award to enhance curriculum using the robots as a context for teaching foundational computing skills. >> Read More
  • The Department recently reached an agreement with Microsoft's MSDNAA. >> Read More
  • FSU Student Chapter of AWM mentors and encourages women and girls as they prepare their career in mathematics. 
  • College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) Newsletter

Department of Mathematics & Computer Science
Fayetteville State University

Science and Technology Building, Room 205

1200 Murchison Road Fayetteville, NC 28301


Hours: M-F, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Phone:(910) 672-2265
Fax: (910) 672-1070

Dr. Radoslav Nickolov, Chair
Ms. Denise Williams, Administrative Support Associate

A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina