Return to the Fayetteville State University Home Page

Office of Teacher Education

FSU HomeOTEOverview


The undergraduate and graduate teacher education programs at Fayetteville State University are approved by the North Carolina State Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) and are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). All programs are designed to prepare education professionals as facilitators of learning. Teacher preparation programs are available in the College of Education, the School of Business and the College of Arts and Sciences.

Programs are offered in Birth through Kindergarten (B-K) elementary education (K-6); middle grades (6-9); secondary education (9-12); and special subjects (K-12). Secondary programs include English, mathematics, comprehensive science. Special subjects (K-12) are physical education, music, and art. The middle grades program requires a concentration in two of four areas: language arts, social studies, science, and math. In addition to the teacher education requirements, each subject area has specialty program requirements in the School of Business and Economics and the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Office of Teacher Education coordinates the teacher preparation programs with respect to field experiences, admission to teacher education, admission to clinical experience, clinical experience assignments and licensure.

The licensure levels for teachers are B-K, K-6, 6-9, 9-12, and K-12.




A Constituent Institution of The University of North Carolina