UNC Board of Governors Names Excellence in Teaching Recipients

Date: April 06, 2018

Congratulations to University of North Carolina Board of Governors 2018 Teaching Award recipient: Dr. Stacye A. Blount, associate professor, Department of Sociology, Fayetteville State University!

The University of North Carolina Board of Governors has selected outstanding University faculty members to receive the 2018 Awards for Excellence in Teaching. The 17 recipients, who represent all 16 of North Carolina's public universities as well as the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, were nominated by special committees based on their home campuses and were selected by the Board of Governors' Committee on Personnel and Tenure.

"These instructors we recognized bring innovative and creative teaching methods and approaches which make a real difference in how students learn," said UNC Board of Governors Chair Lou Bissette said. "We're proud to highlight their accomplishments in the classroom to further showcase the high-quality education students are receiving throughout the UNC System."

Each of the winners will receive a commemorative bronze medallion and a $12,500 cash prize. Awards will be presented by a Board of Governors member during each campus' spring graduation ceremony.

To read more about Dr. Blount, view her teaching philosophy on the UNC System website.

  • Tags:
  • News