Tuition & Fees
Tuition rates are reviewed by the University's Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina System and set annually by the North Carolina legislature.
Residency Determination must be completed within 45 days from the start of a semester.
Tuition and fees primarily support the operations and expansion of Fayetteville State University. These fees are mandatory for every student and cannot be waived.
- Fayetteville State University is a publicly-supported institution and primarily receives its revenue from the State of NC appropriations in addition to tuition and fees.
- Changes to tuition and fees are reviewed by a Student Advisory Board, then approved by the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees and the UNC Board of Governors.
- Tuition rates are also approved by the NC General Assembly.
NOTE: Some or all instructional formats for all or part of the 2020-21 academic year may change due to the public health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. As has always been the case, tuition and fees are charged at the beginning of the semester and will remain in place regardless of any changes in instructional format. Tuition and fees will not be refunded in the event that instructional format changes for any part of the 2020-21 academic year.
V-section courses are Online Synchronous courses. This means that they are fully online and held at specific meeting times. This is the same as if it were a face to face course meeting in a classroom. Fayetteville State University has determined that the V- section courses are to be charged at the face to face class rate.
Full Time Status
Tuition and Fee charges are billed each semester. Twelve or more credit hours are considered full-time for undergraduate students and nine or more credit hours are considered full-time for graduate students.
Distance Learning/Online Courses
Please note that students will receive one combined billing statement for main campus and/or distance learning courses. Distance Learning (DL) courses are billed in addition to main campus charges.
Students who are enrolled in 12 or more credit hours (undergraduate) or 9 or more credit hours (graduate) with the main campus, and are in one or more credit hours of Distance Learning courses, will NOT be billed for the Distance Learning courses.
This benefit is only allotted to students who are attempting either 12 or more hours of on campus undergraduate-level courses or 9 hours or more of graduate-level on campus courses.
Important Information Regarding Tuition and Fees
Effective Spring 2022
Students enrolled in main campus degree programs will be assessed main campus fees for all courses, even if enrolled in online courses. Tuition and fees will be capped at 12 hours for undergraduates and 9 hours for graduate students.
- 2022-2023 Undergraduate Distance Education/Online/Ft. Bragg Degree Rates
- 2022-2023 Undergraduate Main Campus Degree Rates
- 2022-2023 Graduate Distance Education/Online/Ft. Bragg Degree Rates
- 2022-2023 Graduate Main Campus Degree Rates
- 2022-2023 MBA Distance Education/Online/Ft. Bragg Degree Rates
- 2022-2023 MBA Main Campus Degree Rates
- 2022 Summer MBA Distance Rates
- 2022 Summer Graduate Distance Rates
- 2022 Summer Undergraduate Distance Rates
- 2022 Main Campus Summer School Fee Schedule
- Per credit hour tuition MBA Distance
- Per credit hour tuition MBA Main Campus & Virtual Learning
- Per credit hour tuition Graduate Distance
- Per credit hour tuition Graduate Main Campus & Virtual Learning
- Per credit hour tuition Undergraduate Distance
- Per credit hour tuition Undergraduate Main Campus & Virtual Learning
- Fixed Tuition Undergraduate
- Tuition and Fees Reduction
- 2020-2021 Summary Fee Schedule
Fayetteville State University desires to offer you the best educational value possible. The University works within the policy structures of the UNC System of Higher Education to help students not only start, but also to finish college without a great financial burden. Recently, a system-wide policy to assist us in this effort was established.
Under this policy, beginning with the current academic year you will pay the same amount every year you attend FSU until you graduate as long as you are continually enrolled each semester and complete your education in four years (this time period is pro-rated for transfer and continuing students).
This policy applies to North Carolina residents who are:
- First-Time Freshmen
- Continuing Students
- Transfer Students
Non-resident undergraduate students, graduate students, professional students, dual enrollment students, and second degree students are NOT ELIGIBLE for fixed tuition under the policy.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many credits do I need to take to graduate in four years? Taking 15 credits per semester will put you on track to graduate in four years.
What if my program is a five-year program? If you are in a program officially designated by the Board of Governors as a five-year program, your tuition will be fixed for 10 consecutive semesters. The requirement to be continuously enrolled remains.
What does “continuously enrolled” mean? Do I have to take classes in the summer? Continuously enrolled means you take courses each fall and spring semester without a break in attendance. You do not have to take courses in the summer to be considered continuously enrolled, although summer session may help you graduate on time or early.
Are there any exceptions?
Students who have interrupted continuous enrollment may petition for a waiver to retain initial fixed tuition under the following conditions: (1) military service obligation, (2) serious medical debilitation or (3) short- or long-term disability.
If I am a transfer student, do I still get eight semesters of fixed tuition?
Transfer students receive the fixed tuition rate for a period based on the balance allotted to complete the program after the application of adjustments to the acceptable transfer credits. Please talk with your adviser to determine what that time period will be for you.
What happens if I do have a break in my enrollment?
When you return after a break in enrollment, you will be required to pay whatever the current tuition is for that academic year. For example, if tuition has increased by 5% since you began your time at FSU, you will no longer be locked in at the lower rate but instead will pay 5% more for your classes.
What resources are available to me to help plan out my semesters so I can graduate on time?
The Academic Success Counselors and Class Deans in University College and Lifelong Learning (UCaLL) and the Faculty Advisers and Chairpersons in your major departments are available to provide effective academic advising, and the institutional support and resources to facilitate your success. Whether you are a first-year student just beginning your collegiate academic experience, a transfer student joining us from another institution, or a continuing student engaged in your major course of study, effective guidance in navigating college life can mean the difference between timely graduation or falling short of your academic goals. We are here to help you make the right decisions in choosing your major, selecting the appropriate courses, and building your academic pathway to graduation. Making a goal to remain in school until you complete your degree will go a long way toward achieving your dreams. Remember: 15 in 8 and You Graduate (15 hours in 8 semesters).
All students, undergraduate (6 credit hours or more) and graduate (6 credit hours or more) are automatically billed for health insurance as part of tuition and fees. If you have private health insurance through another carrier, then you must provide our insurance company with proof of your coverage. Then, the health insurance fee will be waived/credited. If you DO NOT have insurance coverage you must ENROLL in the insurance plan through Blue Cross Blue Shield. For more information, please contact Student Health Services at 910.672.1454.
The student insurance online WAIVER and ENROLLMENT process is as follows:
- Students must WAIVE the insurance on Student Blue before the deadline.
- Students will be given an online confirmation. Once they complete the steps online, students should keep a copy for their records.
- Click on "ENROLL or WAIVE" to enroll/waive.
- Click on "Proceed to mandatory enroll/waive".
- Follow the prompts and complete the entire process.
- Once the insurance company verifies insurance coverage for a student, they will send the student a notification by email. Students should keep a copy for their records.
- After the waiver period is closed, Student Health Services notifies the Student Account's Office of students eligible to waive through an electronic upload process for all students whose waivers were approved.
Enrolled students who do not register during the designated registration periods for Fall and Spring will be charged a $20.00 non-refundable Late Registration Fee. This fee will be charged to students who register during the Late Registration period.
All permanent, full-time FSU employees who work 30 or more hours per week for nine (9) or more months are eligible for tuition and fee waivers for a course taken at any of the 16 campuses of the University of North Carolina. Participation in the program is voluntary and courses may be taken for either career development or personal interest.
- Tuition and fee charges will be waived for a maximum of two (3) courses per academic year. Academic year is defined to include a fall semester, spring semester and summer session.
- The Tuition Waiver Program does NOT cover non-credit courses. The employee is responsible for any and all additional tuition and fees charged to the student’s account during the term.
- Application or pre-registration procedures may differ between UNC institutions.
- It is the employee's responsibility to be familiar with any variations in procedures.
- Employees receiving non-repayable Financial Aid (Pell Grant, Scholarships, etc.) are eligible for tuition/fee waivers.
The completed Staff/Faculty Waiver form must be submitted to the Human Resources Office before the designated deadline period. Waivers submitted after the deadline period WILL NOT be accepted. It is the staff/faculty‘s responsibility to make sure the request has been received in the Human Resources Office by the designated deadline period.
“Each UNC School might have different tuition waiver deadlines. It is the student’s responsibility to abide by the employing institution, and the course(s) offering institution, deadlines.
Military Students using Tuition Assistance (TA) to pay for courses. Though you have registered in banner for courses, you must also register using the GoArmyEd portal if you are using Military Tuition Assistance to pay for your courses. If you do not register through the ArmyIgnitED portal by the registration close date you will be responsible for your bill. The University may place a hold on your account until that bill is cleared. For more information, please contact your Army Education Counselor or Fort Bragg campus at (910) 672-2962. (TA covers tuition only, not fees.)
- Release of Confidential Information
- Residential Determination Service
Residency Determination must be completed within 45 days from the start of a semester.
- Title IV Information
- Bronco Pay Plan
- Book an Appointment Online
- Important Facts to Remember
- Cost Estimate Worksheet
- Vital Information form
- Opt Out Form
- Payroll Authorization Form
- Parking Information
- FSU Dept. of Education Information