Association of Student Governments Recognizes Fayetteville State University’s Dr. Brent Lewis with Its Highest Award

Date: March 28, 2018

Dr. Brent Lewis, Director of Cultural Programs and Safe Zone at Fayetteville State University (FSU), has been selected as the recipient of the 2017-18 John L. Sanders Student Advocate Award.

The award, presented by the University of North Carolina Association of Student Governments (ASG), is given to a public figure who advocates for the best interests of North Carolina's students and thereby contributes to the quality of their lives.

The award was established in the 30th Session of the Association and is named in honor of John L. Sanders, Director Emeritus of the UNC Institute of Government. The Sanders Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Association upon a member of the University of North Carolina community. Lewis will be honored at ASG's annual John L. Sanders Awards Banquet to be held April 20, 2018 at North Carolina State University.

A native of Eden, N.C., Lewis also serves as the advisor for AUTOS Commuter Student Organization at FSU.  He is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University where he earned his bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. Prior to coming to FSU, he has held positions at North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University, and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Lewis began his career in higher education/student affairs in Housing & Residence Life at North Carolina A&T. Lewis is passionate about addressing issues of diversity and inclusion and creating a campus environment that is inclusive and affirming for all students.

Fayetteville State University is a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina and the second-oldest public institution of higher education in the state, having been founded in 1867. FSU offers degrees at the baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral levels. With more than 6,200 students, Fayetteville State University is among the most diverse institutions in the nation. Chancellor James A. Anderson is the 11th chief executive officer.

  • Tags:
  • News