Top Students Selected for Thurgood Marshall Leadership Institute

Date: August 18, 2020

Eleven Fayetteville State University (FSU) students have been selected to participate in the 33rd Annual Thurgood Marshall Leadership Institute.

Students will complete a series of webinars, professional development workshops and other assignments in preparation for interviews with Fortune 500 and Fortune 1000 companies across the nation. Students will have the opportunity to leave the conference with internship or job offers in hand by the end of the event. The 2020 Leadership Institute was scheduled to take place on October 14-18, 2020, in Washington, DC. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the event will be held virtually.

The Leadership Institute is for college juniors, seniors, and graduate and law students attending our 47 publicly supported Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs). The Leadership Institute is for students who establish themselves as leaders, as well as students with leadership potential who want to build on their skill sets. Prior leadership roles in high school or college are preferred. However, a desire to develop personal leadership and professional advancement skills is required.

The students selected are:

  • Elijah Brake, an English major from Nashville, N.C.
  • Joseph Brake, a social work major from Nashville, N.C.
  • Deja Clark-Drew, pre-law major from Raleigh, N.C.
  • Tarvars Denning, an English major from Garner, N.C.
  • Ahriana Edwards, a business administration major from Charlotte, N.C.
  • Jordan Ferguson, a marketing major from Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Caleb Heatwole, a business administration major from Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Ian McLaurin, a computer science major from Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Ahmahd Moore, a communications major from Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Tiana Murphy, an accounting and finance major from District Heights, MD.
  • Vanessa Ward, a political science major from Rocky Mount, N.C.
  • Tags:
  • News