FSU Names Tyreece Brown Head Women’s Basketball Coach

Date: March 27, 2024

Tyreece Brown, FSU Women’s Basketball Coach

Fayetteville, N.C. - Fayetteville State University’s Director of Athletics, Todd Bennett, has officially named Tyreece Brown as the head coach for the women's basketball program. The removal of the interim tag follows Bennett’s recommendation to the university’s senior leadership and the FSU Board of Trustees.

“Coach Brown has consistently demonstrated the utmost professionalism throughout the season and during this process,” remarks AD Bennett. “His unwavering commitment to the team has been truly remarkable. The positive impact he has had on our players as a leader and mentor cannot be overstated. We are fortunate to have him as an invaluable member of our team.”

“I am grateful to Chancellor Darrell Allison and AD Bennett for placing their trust in me and giving me the opportunity to lead this program,” says Head Coach Tyreece Brown. ‘The unwavering support that both the program and I have received has had a profound impact on the success that FSU has achieved this season.”

Fayetteville State had an exceptional season with a record-breaking 29-3 overall record and reaching the Sweet Sixteen of the NCAA playoffs. Coach Brown was recognized as the CIAA Coach of the Year, while senior Aniylah Bryant earned the CIAA Player of the Year and Tournament MVP titles. She also received Atlantic Region All-Tournament Team and D2CCA All-Atlantic Region Team honors. Additionally, junior Morgan Graham was named the CIAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Coach Brown previously worked as an assistant coach for the women’s basketball program for nine seasons, starting in 2011. With his assistance, the Broncos made four appearances in the CIAA Championship game and won the title in 2020. Brown, a native of Philadelphia, Pa., is a 2008 graduate of Fayetteville State University, where he played on the basketball team as a two-year starter. He played a significant role in leading the team to a Championship appearance in 2005. In 2008, he was one of only three HBCU basketball athletes to receive the Arthur Ashe Award, which recognizes scholar-athletes who excel in athletics, academics, and community activism.

  • Tags:
  • News