The Search for FSU’s Chancellor

In February 2020, former University of North Carolina System Interim President Bill Roper and Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees Chair Stuart Augustine have announced the formation of a 18-member search committee tasked with locating candidates for the position of chancellor at Fayetteville State University.

"These highly respected individuals were chosen for the search committee due to their knowledge, commitment and passion for Fayetteville State University," Dr. Roper said. "I am grateful to each of them for agreeing to serve, and I am confident that this committee will identify the right candidate for this very important position. This search will be an open and thorough process, with input from the many individuals and groups associated with this proud university."

The committee will work to make recommendations to the full Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees, which will vote no fewer than two candidates to recommend to the current UNC System President, Peter Hans. President Hans will then recommend a finalist to the UNC System Board of Governors, which will elect the new chancellor. The process is expected to take six to nine months to complete.

FSU Board of Trustees Chair Stuart Augustine will chair the search committee.

"We are pleased to be moving forward in our efforts to identify the next Chancellor for Fayetteville State University," Augustine said. "For this search committee, we have selected trustees, administrators, faculty, staff, alumni, students, and community leaders, all of whom will provide valuable insight into who the next Chancellor of this great University will be. I am confident that their work will yield an outstanding leader and scholar who will continue the work of making FSU a premiere institution in this city, state, region, and nation."

On July 12, 2019, Dr. Roper named Dr. Peggy Valentine to serve as interim chancellor. Prior to her appointment, Dr. Valentine served as dean of the School of Health Sciences at Winston-Salem State University. The previous chancellor of Fayetteville State University, Dr. James A. Anderson, served in the position from June 9, 2008 until June 13, 2019.

Leadership Statement (PDF)

FSU Chancellor Search Timeline

  • Search Committee Kickoff - February 25, 2020 (Meeting #1)
  • Search Committee Restart - June 10, 2020 (Meeting #2)
  • Virtual Constituent Forums - July-August 2020
  • Finalize Leadership Statement - August 21, 2020 (Meeting #3)
  • Advertise & Invite Applications - August-October 2020
  • Priority Consideration Deadline - October 5, 2020
  • Applicants Shared with Committee - October 16, 2020
  • Applicant Screening Meeting - October 30, 2020 (Meeting #4)
  • Interview Semi-Finalists - November 6 & 13, 2020 (Meeting #5)
  • Campus Visits - December 2020 (Meeting #6)
  • Committee Recommendation to BOT - December 2020 (Meeting #7)
  • BOT Recommendation to President - December 2020
  • President Interviews Finalists - January 2020
  • Approval by BOG - January/February 2021
  • New Chancellor Begins - TBD
Search Committee Members

Mr. Stuart Augustine
Chair, Board of Trustees
Chair, Search Committee
Fayetteville State University

Dr. Afua Ahrin
Interim Dean, College of Health Science and Technolog
Fayetteville State University

Ms. Val Applewhite
Board of Trustees
Fayetteville State University

Miss Kiante Bennett
Board of Trustees
Fayetteville State University

Dr. Shirley Chao
Fayetteville State University

Mr. Jonathan Charleston
Board of Trustees
Fayetteville State University

The Honorable Mitch Colvin
Mayor, City of Fayetteville

Dr. Chet Dilday
Professor/Chair Faculty Senate
Fayetteville State University

Ms. Patricia Flanigan
Chair, Staff Senate
Fayetteville State University

Miss Kelisha Graves
Graduate Student
Fayetteville State University

Mr. Michael King
Assistant Athletics Director
Fayetteville State University

Mr. Richard Kingsberry
President FSU National Alumni Association

Dr. Nicole Lucas
Interim SACSCOC Liaison and Director of Institutional Effectiveness
Fayetteville State University

Dr. Brandon Phillips
Board of Trustees
Fayetteville State University

Col. (Ret.) Donald Porter
Retired Member of the United States Army

Mrs. Alice Stephenson
FSU Foundation
Fayetteville State University

Dr. Roxie Wells
Cape Fear Valley Hospital

Committee Meeting Dates

The FSU Chancellor Search Committee will convene on Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 2 p.m. via Zoom.
Join Zoom Meeting

FSU Chancellor Search Committee

August 21st from 10-11:30 a.m.
Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 951 5314 1920
Passcode: 049298
One tap mobile
+16465588656,,95153141920# US (New York)
+13017158592,,95153141920# US (Germantown)


Faculty Forum – FSU Chancellor Search

July 15, 2020
2 – 4 p.m.

Join Zoom Meeting

Alumni Forum – FSU Chancellor Search

July 20, 2020
6 – 8 p.m.

Zoom address TBD

The Community Forum for the FSU Chancellor Search will be held on July 30, 2020 from 6-7:30 p.m. virtually.

The link to the event is forthcoming.

FACULTY FORUM – Facilitator, Dr. Chet Dilday

July 15, 2020, 2-4 p.m.
Link: Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 920 0880 7079

ALUMNI FORUM – Facilitator, Mr. Richard Kingsberry

July 20, 2020, 6-7:30 p.m.
Link: Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 920 0446 1051
Password: 366727

COMMUNITY FORUM – Facilitator, Dr. Roxie Wells

July 30, 2020, 6-7:30 p.m.
Link: Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 930 4480 6336
Password: 840440
One tap mobile
+16465588656,,93044806336# US (New York)
+13017158592,,93044806336# US (Germantown)

STUDENT FORUM – Facilitators, Ms. Sydney Harris and Ms. Kelisha Graves

August 12, 2020, 7 p.m.
Link: Join Zoom Meeting
We welcome your opinions as we search for FSU’s new Chancellor. A Chancellor Search Survey is provided at the link below.

Meeting ID: 910 9080 4827
Password: bronco

Committee Agendas

Chancellor Search Restart Meeting Agenda
Via Zoom Videoconference

June 10, 2020, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Welcome Stuart Augustine
Search Committee Chair & FSU Board of Trustees Chair
Overview of New Chancellor Search Timeline Lynn Duffy
SAVP for Leadership Development and Talent Acquisition, UNC System Office
Plan for Virtual Constituent Forums Scott Murray
AVP for Executive Search and Leadership Programs, UNC System Office
Update on Leadership Statement Progress Nicole Lucas
Interim SACSCOC Liaison and Director of Institutional Effectiveness, FSU
Action Item Recap & Questions Stuart Augustine
Adjourn Stuart Augustine

Coming Soon