Music (BA)

The music program at Fayetteville State University produces musicians prepared to make significant contributions to the music profession. The BA in Music has two concentrations (Music Education and Music) which offer a variety of flexibility in course offerings as a liberal arts institution.

Why choose Music?

The music program at FSU offers exposure to diverse and innovative experiences in performance, workshops and classroom participation that goes beyond the traditional training. With exposure to real world experiences, we provide life-long learning experiences with music, and promote a climate for scholarly engagement with music.

Ashonti Gainey in Trinidad

Tobago Summer 2017 with percusssion ensemble experience
Distinguished professor Ronald Carter working with FSU students
What will you learn?
  • essential skills of musical performance.
  • comprehensive knowledge of music theory and essential aural skills.
  • comprehensive knowledge of music history and synthesize the analysis of literature, performance styles, and genres of Western and non-Western music.

  • devise a construct of music through aesthetic experience and critical and creative thinking.
  • analyze and synthesize pedagogical strategies, assessment, and the nature of the learner.
What will you do with a degree in music?

You can have a rewarding career in ....

  • music education
  • arts management
  • entertainment law
  • conducting
  • music therapy
  • music business
  • creating vitual reality sound environments
  • music worship
  • music communication
  • broadcast media
  • music journalism
  • music librarian film scoring
  • music production and engineering
  • performing arts medicine
  • composing
  • vocal/instrumental performing
  • instrument repair
  • recording industry
  • electronic production and design
  • publicity and promotions
Music Area Ensembles

Large Ensembles

(1)    Concert Band [Contact Professor Austin Chalmers]

(2)    University Concert Choir [Contact Dr. Denise Payton]

(3)    Marching Bronco 'Xpress (MBX) [Contact Professor Austin Chalmers]

Chamber Ensemble

(1)    Brass Ensemble [Contact Professor Austin Chalmers]

(2)    Jazz Ensemble [Contact Dr. Neal Finn]

(3)    Mane Attraction [Contact Dr. Denise Payton]

(4)    Men of Distinction [Contact Dr. Denise Payton]

(5)    Opera Workshop [Contact Dr. Denise Payton]

(6)    Percussion Ensemble [Contact Dr. Quintin Mallette]

(7)    Woodwind Ensemble [Contact Professor Taiki Azuma]

List of Music Faculty

Name

Title E-mail
Amanda Virelles Assistant Department Chair, Piano, Associate Professor avirelle@uncfsu.edu
Neal Finn Director of Jazz Xpress, Brass, Composition, Associate Professor nfinn@uncfsu.edu
Denise Payton Director of Choral Activities, Lecturer dpayton1@uncfsu.edu
Austin Chalmers Assistant Director of Bands, Lecturer archalmers01@uncfsu.edu
Jerrita Waters Music Education, Lecturer jwaters01@uncfsu.edu
Quintin Mallette Music Area Coordinator, Percussion, Lecturer qmallette@uncfsu.edu
Taiki Azuma Woodwinds, Adjunct Lecturer tazuma@uncfsu.edu
Carlos Castilla Guitar, Adjunct Lecturer ccastilla@uncfsu.edu
Laura Eis Strings, Adjunct Lecturer leis@uncfsu.edu
Dandrick Glenn Low Brass, Adjunct lecturer dglenn@uncfsu.edu
David Lewis High Brass, Adjunct Lecturer dlewis49@uncfsu.edu
Prospective Student

Applicants to the Music Area at Fayetteville state must be admitted to both the University and the Music Area.

To apply for a major in music:

1. Complete an application to Fayetteville State University.  Declare your major as music.  

2. Schedule an audition using the audition day form

For the Spring 2021 semester all auditions to the music area will be held virtually or pre-recorded.  Due to concerns surrounding instrument availability percussion auditions may be scheduled on campus.  Audition days will consist of a meeting and Q&A with music faculty to answer questions about the program, a theory diagnostic exam, and an audition for your area of focus.

Audition Information

Click here

Audition Dates & Scheduling

April 24       

Theory Exam Information 

  • Free Music Theory Resources
  1. Teoria.com 
  2. Music theory.net